Robert Lisak, M.D., wins the Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award from the ANA

July 27, 2021

Newswise — MOUNT LAUREL, NJ, July 26, 2021 — The American Neurological Association (ANA), the professional organization representing the world’s top academic neurologists and neuroscientists, has announced the recipients of its 2021 scientific awards, to be presented during the 146th ANA Annual Meeting, which will be held virtually from October 17 – 19, 2021, with an Opening Symposium on October 16.

These prestigious awards recognize leaders in academic neurology and neuroscience who have exemplified excellence in research, teaching, and clinical practice across the breadth of clinical neurology and neuroscience disciplines.

“The individuals recognized this year are conducting exciting work that is transforming our understanding of the brain and helping move treatment forward,” said ANA President Justin C. McArthur, MBBS, MPH, Director of Johns Hopkins Department of Neurology, and Professor of Neurology. “We hope that this recognition will inspire the awardees to even greater achievements and encourage a new generation of physician-scientists to pursue careers that bring research and teaching together with clinical practice.”

More than 900 of the world’s leading academic neurologists and neuroscientists convene at the ANA Virtual Annual Meeting to share ground-breaking research and updates on the diseases and conditions that affect more than 100 million Americans, such as stroke, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, neuromuscular disorders, headache, traumatic brain and spinal cord injuries, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, and importantly, explore the body of research on the potential neurological connections associated with the novel coronavirus.

As a result of the global pandemic and concern for its members’ wellbeing, the ANA announced it would meet virtually again this year with an interactive format that will foster the networking and mentoring that is integral to this annual event.

The ANA Awards will be bestowed during the Virtual Annual Meeting to the following distinguished physician-scientists.

The Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award recognizes and rewards contributions by gifted and talented teachers of neurology. Nominees come from the entire field of clinical neurology or neuroscience.

  • Awarded to: Robert Lisak, MD, FRCP, FAAN, FANA, Wayne State University
  • Lisak is the Parker Webber Chair in Neurology, Professor of Neurology and of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology at Wayne State University.

Read full article “American Neurological Association Announces Winners of 2021” from Newswise

Make an appointment with a Wayne Health Provider.

Robert Lisak, M.D., wins the Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award from the ANA
Back to News & Media